Tasmanian Certificate of Education

The Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE) is the main credential that is awarded to secondary school students who successfully complete Years 11 and 12 in Tasmania.

For specific information about the TCE, please visit

TASC Subjects

TASC subjects are organised into levels of difficulty – Levels 1, 2, 3 and 4 (with level 1 being the lowest).  Level 3 and 4 subjects are also known as pre-tertiary subjects or university entrance subjects.

  • Subjects are allocated points that are used to calculate the total number of points a student requires to attain their TCE.
  • Most courses studied are full year 150-hour courses and can be studied at Levels 1, 2, 3 and 4.
  • Some courses are 100-hour courses and these are studied at Level 1 or 2.

TASC Planner

TASC has developed a TCE Planner Tool to assist students with their subject selection for Years 11 and 12.  Link:

University Entrance

If students are intending to go to university after Year 12 they must:

  • check the specific university course requirements
  • check they have the necessary pre-requisites for Level 3 and 4 subjects
  • study at least one Level 3 subject in Year 11
  • preferably be studying 5 x Level 3 subjects over 2 years of senior secondary schooling for university entrance (and 3 of these must be gained in Year 12)
  • check the UTAS College Program for courses they can undertake while in Year 11 and 12
  • check they will meet the TCE requirements in 2 years at College

Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR)

The ATAR is used in admissions to universities in Australia. Since 2016, students must meet the standards for the award of the Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE) to be eligible for the calculation of an ATAR. In other words, the TCE must be achieved in order to apply for a university degree.

For more information click here:

  • To be eligible for an ATAR, a student must satisfactorily complete a minimum of four pre-tertiary (Level 3 and 4) subjects (but preferably five) with at least three being completed in Year 12.  Students must also gain their TCE.
  • A maximum of five pre-tertiary subjects will be used to calculate their Tasmanian Tertiary Entrance Score.  This score is calculated by adding the best three subject scores from pre-tertiary subjects satisfactorily completed in Year 12, together with the next two best scores from either year.
  • TE scores are then converted to ATAR.

An ATAR is calculated as follows:

Scores in at least three Level 3 and 4 courses MUST come from the final year of study (either Year 12 or Year 13). The three highest scores from this final year of study are added together with the next best one or two scores from the same year or one other year (e.g. three from Year 12 and two from Year 11 or four from Year 12 and one from Year 11).

The two years of study from which your ATAR can be calculated do not have to be consecutive.

TASC calculates a score for each university entrance (pre-tertiary) course. These course scores are then used to calculate your Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

The same course CANNOT be counted twice. If you repeat a course, the higher score is used.

TASC will advise eligible students of their scores and ATAR. Since 2005, results in approved university studies have also been included in ATAR calculations.

If you DO NOT qualify for an Australian Tertiary Admission Rank Statement but still wish to attend university, please refer to the University of Tasmania’s website for General Entry Requirements.

For further information please refer to the Office of Tasmanian, Assessment, Standards and Certification’s website: